22:37 uur 09-10-2015

Wihuri Foundation International Prize voor Sir Harrison Birtwistle

HELSINKI –(BUSINESS WIRE)– De Wihuri Foundation for International Prizes heeft de Wihuri Sibelius Prize uitgereikt aan de Britse componist Sir Harrison Birtwistle. Hij heeft de prijs gekregen als erkenning van het creatieve werk dat hij heeft gedaan op het gebied van muziek, met in het bijzonder het bevorderen en ontwikkelen van de culturele en economische vooruitgang van de mensheid. Aan de prijs, die vrijdag 9 oktober werd uitgereikt in de Finlandia Hall in Helsinki, is een bedrag van 150 duizend euro verbonden.

Sir Harrison Birtwistle is de zeventiende ontvanger van de Wihuri Sibelius Prize. De Wihuri Foundation for International Prizes werd in 1953 opgericht.

Sir Harrison Birtwistle awarded Wihuri Foundation International Prize

HELSINKI–(BUSINESS WIRE)– The Wihuri Foundation for International Prizes awarded the Wihuri Sibelius Prize of 150 000 euros to British composer Sir Harrison Birtwistle at the Finlandia Hall, in Helsinki October 9th 2015. The Prize was awarded to him in recognition of the creative work that he has done in the field of music, specially furthering and developing the cultural and economic progress of mankind.

Wihuri Sibelius Prize

Antti Wihuri established the Wihuri Foundation for International Prizes in 1953. He understood that as the country gradually recovered after the full settlement of its heavy war reparations, it was time for the Finns to do their share and contribute the joint international effort.

The purpose of the Wihuri Foundation for International Prizes is to promote and sustain the cultural and economic development of society by distributing international prizes, in particular the Wihuri Sibelius Prize. The Foundation follows these aims by distributing prizes in recognition of creative work that has specially furthered and developed the cultural and economic progress of mankind. The Foundation awards the Wihuri Sibelius Prize to prominent composers who have become internationally known and acknowledged. Jean Sibelius received the first Wihuri Sibelius Prize in 1953.

Sir Harrison Birtwistle will be the seventeenth recipient of the Wihuri Sibelius Prize.

Recipient of the Wihuri Sibelius Prize 2015

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Sir Harrison Birtwistle was born in Accrington, United Kingdom in 1934. Birtwistle started his studies at the Royal Manchester College of Music and continued them later at Princeton University. At that time he sold his clarinets to devote his time to complete the opera Punch and Judy. This work, together with Verses for Ensembles and the Triumph of Time, established Birtwistle as a leading voice in British music.

Birtwistle has received many honours and prizes such as the Grawemeyer Award and the Siemens Prize. He was Henry Purcell Professor of Music at King’s College, University of London and is currently Visiting Professor of Composition at the Royal Academy of Music in London.

In the British classical music scene Birtwistle has presented a distinct and courageous style, which has strongly reflected to the international music field. He has established his position as one of the most significant composers of the 20 th and 21 st century.

The Wihuri Sibelius Prize

has been awarded to the following composers:

Jean Sibelius 1953 Finland
Paul Hindemith 1955 Federal Republic of Germany
Dmitri Shostakovich 1958 USSR
Igor Stravinsky 1963 USA
Benjamin Britten 1965 UK

Erik Bergman together with

Usko Meriläinen and

Einojuhani Rautavaara

1965 Finland
Olivier Messiaen 1971 France
Witold Lutoslawski 1973 Poland
Joonas Kokkonen 1973 Finland
Krzysztof Penderecki 1983 Poland
Aulis Sallinen 1983 Finland
György Ligeti 2000 Austria
Magnus Lindberg 2003 Finland
Per Nørgård 2006 Denmark
Kaija Saariaho 2009 Finland
György Kurtág 2012 Hungary
Sir Harrison Birtwistle CH 2015 UK


Jenny and Antti Wihuri Foundation
Wihuri Foundation for International Prizes
Arto Mäenmaa
Executive Director
tel. + 358 50 2536

Check out our twitter: @NewsNovumpr